UEFA confirms penalties for FFP breaches; Barcelona, ​​Chelsea and Man City on the watch list

UEFA have confirmed that eight teams have been sanctioned for breaching Financial Fair Play in the past five years.

Teams participating in UEFA competitions last season were put under the microscope for the 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022 financial years, although 2020 and 2021 were assessed as a single period due to the emergency measures of Covid-19.

UEFA announced on Friday that eight teams will be fined for not respecting their break-even points, with Monaco (€0.3m), Marseille (€0.3m), Besiktas (€0.6m ), AC Milan (€2m), Juventus. (€3.5m), Inter (€4m), Roma (€5m) and PSG (€10m) ordered to pay immediately or have these sums deducted from their kitty from this season .

Further breaches would see each respective side charged again, with PSG handing out the biggest punishment of another €55m payout if they failed to break even.

Surprisingly, UEFA found that the teams from England and Spain met all their criteria and would not be punished.

However, they insisted that 19 clubs – Borussia Dortmund, Chelsea, Barcelona, ​​Basel, Union Berlin, Fenerbahce, Feyenoord, Leicester City, Manchester City, Lyon, Rangers, Real Betis, Royal Antwerp, Sevilla, Lazio, Napoli, Trabzonspor, Wolfsburg and West Ham United – have been placed on a watch list because they either scratched their demands or ‘benefited from historic positive balance results’.

These 19 clubs have been informed that they will not have such leeway when analyzing the results of their 2023 financial year.