New Britain Herald – American Savings Foundation welcomes new community volunteers to serve on committees

NEW BRITAIN – The American Savings Foundation welcomes new community volunteers to serve on various committees.

“Our volunteer committees are critical to our grant and scholarship review processes and to establishing our communications practices,” said Maria Falvo, president and CEO of the American Savings Foundation. “Each of these seven new members adds a unique perspective and considerable expertise to the committees they join, and enriches the Foundation as we evolve to meet the changing needs of the community.”

The elected volunteers who will sit on the grants committee are Christopher Godfrey, Rebecca Karabin-Ahern and Dr. Violet Jiménez Sims. The Grants Committee supports the grantmaking process by reviewing proposals and making recommendations to the Board.

Godfrey works at Slade Middle School as an Equity and Climate Specialist. He holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree and spent over 21 years in various positions at the New Britain YMCA in Berlin.

Karabin-Ahern is co-president of Acme Monaco Corporation, where she oversees the company’s operations. She holds a bachelor’s degree and worked at Hershey Foods USA in their northeast sales division prior to her role at Acme Monaco.

Sims is the general manager of academic programming for the Connecticut Teachers’ Residency Program. For 20 years, she has worked at all levels of education, from kindergarten to public university establishments.

The elected volunteers who will serve on the scholarship committee are Dr. Gladys Colon and Demesis Negron-Figueroa. The Scholarship Committee is responsible for reviewing applications and awarding awards for the Robert T. Kenney Scholarship Program at the American Savings Foundation. Committee members review hundreds of applications each year using a blind review process and make recommendations to the Foundation’s Board regarding scholarship program processes and procedures.

Colon is the current Student Financial Literacy Coordinator at Central Connecticut State University. She has spent over 15 years at the Office of Financial Aid helping students complete the FAFSA application, apply for grants and loans, complete the undocumented student aid application, and understand the program. financial aid.

Negron-Figueroa is a licensed Master Social Worker with demonstrated experience. She also has a passion for education, case management, youth development, family systems, crisis intervention and community engagement. Negron-Figueroa is a graduate of Naugatuck Valley Community College and was awarded a Robert T. Kenney Fellowship by the American Savings Foundation in 2016. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees and recently joined the development team of Youth at the YWCA where she works with the STRIVE and House of Teen Programs.

The elected volunteers who will serve on the Communications Committee are Danerick Peralta and Abby Woodhouse. The Communications Committee reviews the Foundation’s communications policies, strategies and objectives.

Peralta is currently Head of Digital Technology Design at Pratt & Whitney. He received a Robert T. Kenney Fellowship from the American Savings Foundation and holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree. Peralta was a guest student speaker at the 2015 American Savings Foundation Annual Scholarship Reception and recently designed its 25th anniversary logo.

Woodhouse specializes in social media, design and digital marketing efforts in her role as communications manager for the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving. She received a Robert T. Kenney Fellowship from the American Savings Foundation and has a bachelor’s degree. Woodhouse is currently a member of the Foundation’s scholarship committee and has actively volunteered with nonprofits, including serving as a crisis counselor with the Crisis Text Line since 2016.

Posted in New Britain Herald, New Britain on Thursday August 4th, 2022 1:56 PM. Updated: Thursday, August 4, 2022 1:59 PM.